Oh please, NOT again!

So, another super typhoon will be hitting our country by tomorrow (Friday) and I am scared.

I will be going back to our other house in the province (not in my hometown) tomorrow and I am quite scared that I might get stranded again for 15 hours or so on the road. That was the first time I experienced it and it felt like I was gonna die every hour. I remember that everytime a super typhoon hits our country, I am always inside the warm and comfortable house of my parents. Now that I live alone, two hours away from my hometown, it’s quite frightening. I now understand the worries that my parents feel, and why my mom don’t sleep when me and my brothers are not yet home. Last Saturday, while I was stranded on the road and spent my 15 hours on a cab, with my cell phone dead, I didn’t know what to do. I tried my best to calm myself, but deep inside, I wanted to cry because I didn’t know if my family’s safe in our province, and if my mom is okay while waiting for me in our other house. We’re suppose to go back to our hometown together. I don’t want to see people again walking on the street under the heavy rain. I don’t want to see flooded houses, muddy streets and people begging for food, or neither do I want to hear announcement on the radio inside a cab about the people missing and dying because of the flood. The storm ruined metro manila in less than 12 hours, as well as other provinces.

The scenario I’ve seen reminds me of how tragic life has been for people when the Mount Pinatubo erupted. I know how it feels like to lose everything or almost everything, though I was luckier compare to others because I belong to a well off family. Still, I couldn’t erase the fact that we’ve lost the glamour of our home. Well anyway, we were safe, my whole family, that includes our dog Gringga.

Sigh, I just hope everything will be well. Seeing people suffering is heartbreaking.

~ by Asian Butterfly on October 1, 2009.

13 Responses to “Oh please, NOT again!”

  1. I am sending you warm thoughts that you will be able to bear the force of this storm. May Good luck be with you, your family, and your community.

    Wrap up in the love and the warm thoughts of others.
    sincerely
    Jessica

  2. Thank you so much Jessica.
    I am really hoping that the coming days will pass without anyone being harm…

  3. I have no idea what that’s like.
    I wish you and your family the best.
    Let us know if you’re all alright
    as soon as you have a chance, okay?
    I get the feeling that everything will
    be fine, but I’ll say a quick prayer anyway.

    Warm regards from the hopeful UT.

    • haah, im still okay uncle tree
      the typhoon will arrive night of saturday
      thank you thank you for the prayer

  4. So many storms hitting in you area! I hope and pray you , your family, and your friends will all be well despite the incredible devastation these things bring.

  5. My thoughts are with you! I hope all is well.

  6. thank you emerald…

  7. I felt your pain and fear in the post you wrote. My thoughts will be with you. You have the strength to do whatever you are determined to have done. I know you will survive and move ahead. There will be feelings mixed with pain and happiness. Have a peaceful trip. 🙂

  8. Thinking of you and wishing hope and safety to wrap itself around you and your family.

  9. I hope you & your family were ok during the typhoon. I am assuming from your post that you are in the Phillipines & I saw it on the TV news how bad it was.

Leave a Reply

 
